Thursday, November 10, 2022
HomeFinancial PlanningHarriett Baldwin MP to chair Treasury Committee

Harriett Baldwin MP to chair Treasury Committee

Former Financial Secretary to the Treasury Harriett Baldwin MP has been elected chair of the influential Treasury Committee.

She takes over from Mel Stride MP who has develop into Secretary of State for Work and Pensions.

The committee, made up of MPs, holds authorities ministers and senior officers to account and often questions FCA and Financial institution of England senior figures.

Ms Baldwin has been MP for West Worcestershire since Could 2010. Between 2010 and 2015 she served on the Work and Pensions Choose Committee and was then Parliamentary Non-public Secretary to the Minister for Employment within the Division of Work and Pensions. 

In 2015, she grew to become Financial Secretary to the Treasury (Metropolis Minister) after which moved to develop into Parliamentary Beneath Secretary of State within the Ministry of Defence accountable for Defence Procurement in July 2016. Between 2018 and 2019 she served as Minister for Africa.

Following her re-election in 2019, she joined the Treasury Choose Committee.

She was born in Hertfordshire and spent her early childhood in Cyprus. She learn Trendy Languages (French and Russian) at Oxford, receiving First Class Honours and obtained an MBA from McGill College in Canada.


She had a 20 yr profession in finance, specialising in forex markets for pension funds and he or she was on the Nationwide Council of Enterprise for Sterling. She was vice chair of the board of the Social Funding Enterprise and chair of the Funding Committee from 2008-2012. The Social Funding Enterprise helps charities and social enterprises with finance.

She has supported many native charities and has additionally campaigned for extra girls to get entangled in politics and to work in monetary companies.

5 candidates stood for election for the function of chair:

  • Harriett Baldwin, MP for West Worcestershire
  • Mr John Baron, MP for Basildon and Billericay­­
  • Richard Fuller, MP for North East Bedfordshire
  • Andrea Leadsom, MP for South Northamptonshire
  • Package Malthouse, MP for North West Hampshire

The brand new chair was chosen from Conservative Occasion MPs, as agreed by the social gathering leaders following the outcomes of the final Common Election.

Ms Baldwin MP mentioned: “It’s a privilege to be elected because the chair of such a prestigious and influential Committee and I pay tribute to my fellow candidates on the constructive marketing campaign.

“With the Chancellor’s Autumn Assertion across the nook, rates of interest on the rise and inflation nicely above goal, the function of the Committee has by no means been extra essential. As chair, I’ll maintain the Treasury to account and scrutinise the Financial institution of England and our regulators with out concern or favour.

“The Treasury Committee will proceed to play an important function in safeguarding our nation’s financial system. We’ll examine the important thing points, ask powerful questions, and supply constructive problem. The laborious work begins in the present day, and I can not wait to get began.”

Members of the committee are: Harriett Baldwin (Chair, Con, West Worcestershire), Rushanara Ali (Lab, Bethnal Inexperienced and Bow), Anthony Browne (Con, South Cambridgeshire), Dame Angela Eagle (Lab, Wallasey), Emma Hardy (Lab, Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle), Siobhain McDonagh (Lab, Mitcham and Morden), Alison Thewliss (SNP, Glasgow Central). Gareth Davies (Con, Grantham and Stamford), Kevin Hollinrake (Con, Thirsk and Malton) and Julie Marson (Con, Hertford and Stortford) have taken up Authorities posts. They formally stay Committee members pending alternative however are usually not anticipated to take part.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments